Support us | Contact

Knowledge & Research  

West Warwick Public Library Reference Databases -http://wwlibrary.org/newsite/adult/databases.htm - many reference databases require an OSL card.

50 states.com - http://www.50states.com - Lots of facts and useful information links arranged specific to each of the 50 United States of America. including state homepage, capitol tours, web cams, constitution, driving rules, election links, genealogical resources, newspapers, maps, political representatives, state symbols, tax forms, topography, tourism, veteran affairs, weather, and more.

U.S. Copyright Office - http://www.copyright.gov - All about copyright and including law, licensing and registration.

American Women’s History: A Research Guide - http://frank.mtsu.edu/~kmiddlet/history/women.html

Ask Oxford - http://www.askoxford.com - This site includes searchable access to the compact Oxford English dictionary and features many other helpful resources.

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System - http://www.federalreserve.gov - U.S. Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System.

History Matters - http://historymatters.gmu.edu - Designed for high school and college teachers and students, History Matters serves as a gateway to web resources and offers other useful materials for teaching U.S. history.

Documenting the American South - http://docsouth.unc.edu - is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.

Eric Weisstein’s World of Science: A Wolfram Web Resource - http://scienceworld.wolfram.com -
Features biographies and explanations of topics in mathematics, physics, astronomy, and chemistry.

GeoData - http://gos2.geodata.gov/wps/portal/gos - Find and use geographic data

Internet Public Library Ready Reference - http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/ref00.00.00 - Reference websites from the Internet Public Library including dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, and much more.

Mad Sci Network - http://madsci.org- Ask-A-Scientist, fun educational activities, and information resources from Washington University.

Making of America - http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/moagrp - is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Parlo - http://www.parlo.com - Online language courses in English, Spanish, French, and Italian.

Presidential Timeline of the Twentieth Century - http://www.presidentialtimeline.org - Biographical information from Herbert Hoover to Bill Clinton and covers topics and events relevant to the twentieth century.Provides citations to print and internet reference sources, as well as to selected large primary source collections.

RootsWeb - http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com - Geneology resource.

Science Daily - http://www.sciencedaily.com - Source for the latest science research news, recent scientific developments, and general information (available in English, Spanish, French, German, and simplified English)

Sparknotes- http://www.sparknotes.com - Provides free access to online study guides in the areas of literature and the arts and sciences. The collection includes study guides for literary classics and other subject areas, such as health, nutrition, computer science, and biographies.

The American Civil War Homepage - http://sunsite.utk.edu/civil-war - This site seeks to provide a comprehensive directory of hypertext links about the Civil War period.

The Math Forum @ Drexel University - http://mathforum.org - Resource for improving math learning, teaching, and communication since 1992.

The Straight Dope - http://www.straightdope.com - An entertaining and informative online archive which includes most of the questions and answers from the past quarter century.        

University of Michigan Documents Center - http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs - A central reference and referral point for government information; local, state, federal, foreign or international.

USGov - http://www.usa.gov - Everything you wanted to know from the US government

World Factbook - https://www.cia.gov/redirects/ciaredirect.html -  Lists population, government, military, and economic information for nations recognized by the United States.

Language                                                                                                                                           

West Warwick Public Library Family Literacy - http://wwlibrary.org/newsite/literacy/index.htm - Free ESL classes are offered at the West Warwick Public Library for individuals who want to improve their English skills.

Annebuerg Mediawww.learner.org/resources/browse.html?discipline=3 - Video on Demand in English, French, Spanish, and German, coproduced by WGBH

BBC Languages - www.bbc.co.uk/languages - Learn languages in your own time and have fun.

Byki -http://www.byki.com - a powerful and personalized language-learning system

I Love Languages - www.ilovelanguages.com The Human-Languages Page is a comprehensive catalog of language-related Internet resources

iTalki - www.italki.com - a language learning social network that connects students and language teachers.

Live Mocha - www.livemocha.com - a social network service where users can learn languages through audio-visual lessons, peer tutoring tools and support systems.

MyHappyPlanet - www.myhappyplanet.com - Connects language learners around the world. Practice foreign languages with native speakers. Learn languages through videos and lessons.

Back to Reference Department Home

 

© 2008 West Warwick Public Library. All rights reserved. Last Updated December 23, 2009