Online Databases Available
*We no longer subscribe to the Providence Journal database from Proquest.
*Verizon FIOS customers and out-of-state Rhode Islanders have to use this link to access WorldBook Online and then login with their library card.
- Magill's Medical Guide
Salem Health brings online access to Salem Press’ award-winning health reference works. The first reference set included is Salem Press’ bestselling Magill’s Medical Guide. The Guide covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. (West Warwick library card needed for home access)
- Auto
Repair Reference Center
This provides access to automotive repair information suppled
by Point 5 Technologies,Inc. under license from the former publisher
of Chilton Information and Delphi Integrated Service Solutions.
Auto Repair Reference contains information on most major manufacturers
of domestic and imported vehicles including most vintage cars
back to 1945. Enhanced wiring diagrams, specifications and maintenance
schedules and labor time guides are also included. (OSL
card needed.)
- Heritage
Quest
This database combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal
census records with full-text genealogy and local history collections.
(OSL card needed.)
-
Ancestry Library Edition
This database is available only when you are visiting the West Warwick Public Library. (OSL card needed.)
- Magazines
and Periodicals
This provides access to magazine and newspaper articles covering
literature, business, current events and more. (Ebsco) Please
note that not all articles are full text. (OSL
card needed.)
- Health
and Medical Information (Salud en Espanol)
This provides access to magazines, research articles, websites
and newspaper articles covering health, medicine and medical issues
and more. (Ebsco) Please note that not all articles are full text.
(OSL card needed.)
- Guides to Fiction and Nonfiction
Search for books of fiction and nonfiction at all reading levels. Authors, author read-alikes, reviews, essays, book discussion guides, award winners and recommended reads are all on the Novelist, NoveList Plus, and NoveList K-8 Plus databases.
(OSL card needed.)
- Kids Search makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Geared for elementary school students. (OSL card needed.)
- Live Homework Help (Tutor.com) If you are in grades K-12, college (introduction) or you are an adult learner, you can receive free tutoring in math, science, social studies and English everyday from 2:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. online.
- World Book Online
For Verizon Fios users use WorldBook Online
A general encyclopedia of the world covering everything from animals
to zoos. This database includes a Spanish language encyclopedia.
(OSL card needed from home computer)
|